Skip to content

Traveller’s Jewels

April 19, 2012

Through the darkness of future past

The magician longs to see

Once chants out between two worlds…

2 blogs in quick succession! Unemployment is making me get carried away, don’t worry, I promise it won’t last long. When I did my brief survey of things people took travelling and didn’t use one of the things mentioned was jewellery; you pick stuff up out there etc. I told myself I could only take one of each bit so then I had a dilemma about what to choose. Eventually the only answer I could come up with was to dismantle my favourite pieces and cobble together a necklace made up of all of them, there’s even a bit of Blue Fairy in there. And voila…

The Twin Peaks reference is a particularly nerdy bit of sentimentalism. I am an unashamed movie buff and snob, I’d say on average I’ve watched pretty much a film a day for the last 3 years and I love David Lynch. I really wanted to put Fire Walk With Me on the bag I painted to take with me but it just didn’t go anywhere so in the end I made myself a bracelet. I will be saying goodbye to the silver screen for a while but I shall take my nerd reference with me. Plus, it’s just such a damn cool line; and very appropriate for a traveller.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 3:53 pm

    That bracelet is GORGEOUS!

  2. April 20, 2012 1:06 pm

    Are you prepared/resigned to your jewellery getting lost or damaged? They are beautiful, but it is still a liability. Enjoy, but be a good Buddhist and beware of attachment!

  3. Suze Burling permalink
    April 20, 2012 6:01 pm

    See if you weren’t going away now would be the time to leap onto the GofT bandwagon and start making those bracelets with ‘words’ like ‘Winter is Coming’…. there are plenty of GofT geeks who’d snap ’em up I’m sure. It’s like Harry Potter and whether you wanted to be in Gryffindor or Hufflepuff (did anybody actually want to be in Hufflepuff) – which words from which House would you choose….
    The Fire Walk With Me one is pretty special it has to be said…such a clever bunny…. xx

Leave a Reply

