Skip to content

A Tour of a Thai Gaff

April 21, 2013

Since I’ve been in Thailand multiple people have asked me what exactly a Thai apartment is like. As such I’ve been meaning to write this blog for ages and am only getting round to it now that I’ve technically moved out! Here’s my apartment in Thailand that I shared with Skeeter/Scotty-Boo/Scott. I lived above an Indian restaurant right in the centre of Lop Buri’s old town so I never had to go far for anything which was brilliant.

First off – here’s my road:

DSCF7532Then we go in through the front door to the restaurant…

DSCF7531

DSCF7522

DSCF7527

The elephants on the wall and the (liberally interpreted) Indian flag on the bar were painted by yours truly. Next you go through the door at the back…DSCF7524up some stairs…

DSCF7534Up some more stairs…

DSCF7538To my front door…

DSCF7540And then you’re in my apartment!

DSCF7544Which has the world’s smallest kitchen in the hall:

DSCF7545Then there’s my bedroom which has a grand total of 16 windows completely covering 3 walls. This means that my room is kind of like my conservatory back home, cold in winter (heaven here) and roasting in summer (hell). No air-con! The light in the morning is gorgeous though and you get used to the heat.

DSCF7551The best bits are outside though; here’s the terrace:

DSCF6989 DSCF6987 DSCF6988 DSCF6985 DSCF698610 points if you spotted the builder’s balls-up! There must be a fail website somewhere that wants that picture.

Finally there’s the real seller – the roof:

DSCF7504

You can literally see right into King Narai’s back garden and the palace grounds.DSCF7506

DSCF7507

DSCF7510

DSCF7512

Its great for relaxing, reading a book, drinking a beer or having some blinding parties/jam sessions!DSCF7514

Whenever I come down the ladder I always have to sit at the top ad have a think for ten minutes before descending. It’s a very calm little spot where you can see all the hustle and bustle going on below but its quiet and calm and there’s a nice breeze – a rare commodity out here. I will miss this place very much, I’ve made so many happy memories here but now it’s time for pastures new. DSCF7516

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2013 8:36 am

    What a great set of pictures. You are so going to miss that place. Is it seriously impossible to shut your window? Is it just taken for granted that anyone can climb in and nick whatever they want? Thanks for posting this. It is great to see what you have talked about for so long.

  2. April 22, 2013 8:54 am

    Yup, can’t close the window! If you look you can see all the windows have decorative bars on the inside though. Makes me giggle every time I see that window lol, only in Thailand.

  3. May 5, 2013 1:42 pm

    Wow, I really like the way you labeled all the pictures 😉

    It sure makes you appreciate what you have right?

    I can’t believe the window is impossible to close, was that on purpose?

    I like your room, its quite big, probably the size of my tiny apartment in Korea ha ha So consider yourself lucky!

    The view from the roof is awesome though, I could spend an hour or a few just admiring the panorama with a really cold drink in hand 😉

    Thank you for sharing!

    K

  4. May 8, 2013 5:22 am

    Thanks! It must be said that Thai workers are a little well known for not being quite so dedicated to their jobs, particularly compared to Koreans! Also they have no building regulations or inspections really unless its a big important structure – my guess is they had the window open when they put that pipe up, didn’t think about it, and by the time they realised couldn’t be bothered to change it! There’s mosquito netting and bars inside the window though so its ok – plus its never cold here! It is quite funny timing how long it takes visitors to notice though. 😉

    I shall miss that roof. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

